Discussing the rituals of life and the rituals of the Catholic Church – a little something for everyone!

Are YOU ready for Triduum?

I know I shouldn’t ask this question out loud because every good liturgist, musician and pastor that I know has already completed or is just finishing up their Triduum planning for this year… 😉

However, there are those who wait until about Lent 5 before they crack open their Roman Missal and start looking it over. This year, with the 3rd Edition firmly in place, it might be a wise idea for those who put off the inevitalbe to wait no longer and start looking for any and all changes NOW! Just reading over the new language for those prayers that only come around once a year is worth an earlier start but if a celebrant is planning on singing the Exsultet the words are VERY different than what most of us are used to hearing. Fitting them to the slightly altered chant tune may take a little work so better to start working on that now than the week before. Performance pressure is not pretty any time but during Triduum it’s just down right ugly.

Since I am serving in the role of MC this year I’m just waiting to sit down with my Pastor and finalize our plans. Haven’t been the “liturgical guidepost” for a few years so I’ll be sure to check over everything twice before I put the servers through their paces. I believe that a good liturgist is like a good chef – it’s all in the preparations!

May the Spirit be with all of us as we prepare our parishes and our hearts to once again enter this important season. I’m ready…are you?

Comments on: "Are YOU ready for Triduum?" (1)

  1. I wouldn’t want to have to sing the Exultet today but I WILL be ready!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

